DIRAC

I just quoted Dirac from a speech in 1969, in Florida !!  Earlier, much earlier for me, back in maybe 2004 I got hold of his ‘little black book’ published in the 1950’s, on Qunatum Theory, which by 1930 he had nailed down along with Shrødinger, and Heisenberg !!! From the state library, this little book was one-third prose, then maths of quantum mechanics. Very dry, it is a mathematician’s exposition. Halfway thru the prose section, for one page, he gets slightly conversational: “I give you mechanics of objects of mass ‘m’ and electric charge ‘e’.  I do not know why they are so;  they are eigenvalues we always measure !!”  FOLKS, HE MIGHT AS WELL HAVE SAID, ‘SEE, NORM, THE BACKDOOR IS WIDE OPEN.’ . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
Paul Adrienne Maurice Dirac, I hear you. I hope always to minimize dorkiness, unless the MATHEMATICS DEMANDS IT………………. Piotr Rumenov Todorov, where are you???

 

 

Leave a Reply

